2020 Design Awards Winners

The AIA Canada Awards program runs annually each fall to recognize best practices, innovative thinking, and design excellence in the work of AIA Canada members and future design professionals—the latter through a student category and $1,000 scholarship.

The 2020 awards cycle invited entries in the categories of Architecture, Interior Architecture, Urban Design, Unbuilt Projects and Student. The jury was chaired by Greg Yager, FAIA, HKIUD, International Representative to the AIA Strategic Council and GW Design Consultant Group, LLC (Shanghai, Los Angeles, Las Vegas) and included two other distinguished architects: Grace Kim, FAIA co-founding Principal of Schemata Workshop in Seattle, WA and Sam Oboh, FAIA, FRAIC, Principal and Vice President at Ensight + Architecture and International Region Representative of the AIA College of Fellows.

AIA Canada Society hosted a webinar 22 April 2021 to reveal the winning entries:


Photo Credit: doubplespace photography

Senate of Canada Building, Diamond Schmitt Architects and KWC Architects, Architects in Joint Venture

Photo Credit: Scott Norsworthy

Humber College Barrett Centre for Technology Innovation, Perkins and Will


Photo Credit: Tom Arban

Ryerson University Daphne Coxwell Health Science Complex, Perkins and Will

Photo Credit: Ed White Photographics

BC Children’s Hospital & BC Women’s Hospital + Health Centre, Teck Acute Care Centre, ZGF Architecture in association with HDR

Photo Credit: FUTURE LANDSCAPES Design + Visualization

The Meadoway, Perkins &Will with FUTURE LANDSCAPES Design + Visualization


Photo Credit: Nic Lehoux

Grandview Heights Aquatic Centre, HCMA Architecture + Design

Photo Credit: Lisa Logan

University of Toronto Mississauga Maanjiwe Nendamowinan, Perkins & Will

Photo Credit: Scott Norsworthy

Oak Ridges Library, Perkins & Will


Photo Credit: Doublespace Photography

Smith Residence, MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects

Photo Credit: Scott Norsworthy

The Toronto Studio of Perkins & Will, Perkins & Will

Photo Credit: Michael Evola

Framed, Michael Evola, Student Submission